Tags

, , , ,

Click here to learn about this snail mail goodness!
Oh, Hello Mr. Postman

Hello Beautiful! Did you do anything fun this weekend? Tell me in the comments how your lovely weekend went. Remember how I was sick last weekend, well now my husband is sick. It’s inevitable that everyone in the same house gives the bug to each other. So, I was taking care of him since he took care of me. He is feeling a little better now and just in time for our six month wedding anniversary today! Yeah!

I still look back at our wedding pictures and remember the bliss of it all. I want to start another new blog series all about weddings. I’ll be giving wedding tips, advice, and decor ideas you can use. I planned my entire wedding along with help from my now husband. Planning our wedding will always be one of my greatest life achievements. It wasn’t just planning a party; it was a full time job. If you’re planning your own wedding or helping a friend, don’t worry, I’m here to help! Let me know in the comments what you need help on, and I’ll do my best to answer your questions 🙂

Back to the topic of the day. This is my first “found letter.” Woo hoo! What’s a found letter you ask? It’s a letter I wrote with the intention of hiding it for a stranger to find. It’s an inspirational letter to hopefully brighten their day.

There are high schoolers that park their cars in my neighborhood as they go to school down the street, and I want to leave it for one of them. I might just put this letter on the windshield of one of their cars. I know we have all experienced those difficult teen years. The hormones, the drama, the uncertainty of the future. If you’re still in high school, you will make it through like I did! I have to say it was pretty tough for me. I thank God that I had marching band to keep me busy. And yes, I was a band geek.

So of course, the color scheme for this first found letter is yellow. Yellow is such a happy, joyous color. It is also the color of friendship. I used yellow striped washi tape to decorate the side of the letter. I handmade an envelope using the brightest yellow paper I had. I even made yellow and white heart confetti. Hopefully this bright yellow letter will brighten someone’s day.

The next letter is obviously for a man- Mr. Yves Debroyer from Belgium. I saw pictures of his lovely calligraphy on Instagram, so it was fitting to do a little calligraphy myself. I am by no means an expert in calligraphy. I just dabbled in it when addressing my engagement party invitation envelopes and practiced every now and then.

In this letter, I used white ink on black paper. White ink on colored paper is so beautiful. The blue piece of paper with “San Francisco” on it was written by Laura Lavender for my wedding table numbers, but it this case, table names. I’ll post more about this in the future. That white envelope with my maiden name was written by Fozzy Dayrit who addressed all our return addresses for our wedding RSVPs. I included these little extras as a nice touch for my calligraphy lover recipient. And lastly, that tan envelope is a hand-stained envelope by me. I used coffee to give it that aged look, and it has a used orange vintage Yugoslavian stamp. Researching a little about the stamp it is from 1953, a rare and gorgeous stamp.

I hope you enjoyed these letters. Remember to follow @ohhellomrpostman on Instagram to see more photos of this snail mail goodness as well as featured photos of letters written by you!  Post a picture of a letter or postcard you wrote to someone with the hashtag #ohhellomrpostman and you might just get featured! Have a great week!

Sincerely,

Jamie

